The Program Committee of the 16th European Conference on Logics in Artificial Intelligence (JELIA 2019) invites the submission of technical papers for the conference that will be held in Rende, Italy, from May 8th to May 10th, 2019. The aim of JELIA 2019 is to bring together active researchers interested in all aspects concerning the use of logics in Artificial Intelligence to discuss current research, results, problems, and applications of both theoretical and practical nature. JELIA strives to foster links and facilitate cross-fertilization of ideas among researchers from various disciplines, among researchers from academia and industry, and between theoreticians and practitioners.


Conference topics include, but are not limited to:

  • Abductive and inductive reasoning
  • Answer set programming
  • Applications of logic-based AI systems
  • Argumentation systems
  • Automated reasoning including satisfiability checking and its extensions
  • Computational complexity and expressiveness
  • Deep learning for rules and ontologies
  • Deontic logic and normative systems
  • Description logics and other logical approaches to Semantic Web and ontologies
  • Explanation finding
  • Knowledge representation, reasoning, and compilation
  • Logic programming, answer set programming, constraint logic programming
  • Logic-based data access and integration
  • Logical interpretation of machine learning models
  • Logics for uncertain and probabilistic reasoning
  • Logics in machine learning
  • Logics in multi-agent systems, games, and social choice
  • Neural networks and logic rules
  • Non-classical logics, such as modal, temporal, epistemic, dynamic, spatial, paraconsistent, and hybrid logics
  • Nonmonotonic logics, default logics, conditional logics
  • Ontology formalisms and models
  • Ontology-based query answering
  • Ontology-based reasoning
  • Planning and diagnosis based on logic
  • Preferences
  • Reasoning about actions and causality
  • Updates, belief revision and nonmonotonic reasoning


The Best Paper and the Best Student Paper of the conference will receive a cash prize of EUR 500 each, offered by Springer.

The authors of both best papers will be invited to submit abridged versions of their work to the IJCAI 2019 Sister Conference Best Paper Track.

The authors of the top-notch contributions (from 3 to 6 papers, including both best papers) will be invited to submit long and more elaborate versions of their work for a special issue of Theory and Practice of Logic Programming (TPLP).


  • Abstract submission deadline 26 November 2018 (23:59 UTC-12)
  • Paper submission 03 December 2018 (23:59 UTC-12)
  • Notification of acceptance 16 January 2019
  • Best paper notification 31 January 2019
  • Camera-ready due 28 February 2019
  • Online registration opens 01 March 2019
  • Conference start 08 May 2019


Submission Site:

For formatting guidelines, see more information on

JELIA 2019 welcomes submissions of long or short papers in the following categories:

Regular papers. Submissions should contain original research, and sufficient detail to assess the merits and relevance of the contribution. Submissions must not have been previously published or be simultaneously submitted for publication elsewhere.

System/Application descriptions. Submissions should describe an implemented system/application and its application area(s). A demonstration should accompany a system/application presentation. Papers describing systems or applications that have already been presented in JELIA before will be accepted only if significant and clear enhancements have been implemented and are properly reported.

All submissions should not exceed 13 (resp., 6) pages for long (resp., short) papers, including figures etc., but excluding references, and should be written in English. Submissions must be formatted according to the standard Springer LNCS style, and are not anonymous. The conference proceedings of JELIA 2019 will be published by Springer-Verlag in the Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence, a sub-series of Lecture Notes in Computer Science (Important note: Springer will require all the LaTeX source files of all accepted submissions).


JELIA 2019 will not accept any paper that, at the time of submission, is under review or has already been published or accepted for publication in a journal or another conference. Authors are also required not to submit their papers elsewhere during JELIA’s review period. However, these restrictions do not apply to previous workshops with a limited audience and without archival proceedings.


Please send all enquiries at the email address


General Chair

  • Nicola Leone (University of Calabria)

Program Chairs

  • Francesco Calimeri (University of Calabria)
  • Marco Manna (University of Calabria)

Organization Chairs

  • Carmine Dodaro (University of Genova)
  • Valeria Fionda (University of Calabria)

Publicity Chair

  • Simona Perri (University of Calabria)

Program Committee

  • Mario Alviano (University of Calabria)
  • Carlos Areces (Universidad Nacional de Córdoba)
  • Franz Baader (Technische Universität Dresden)
  • Peter Baumgartner (CSIRO)
  • Salem Benferhat (CNRS, Université d’Artois)
  • Meghyn Bienvenu (CNRS, University of Bordeaux)
  • Alexander Bochman (Holon Institute of Technology)
  • Gerhard Brewka (Universität Leipzig)
  • Pedro Cabalar (Universidade da Coruña)
  • David Carral (Technische Universität Dresden)
  • Giovanni Casini (Université du Luxembourg)
  • Cristina Civili (Samsung R&D Institute United Kingdom)
  • Mehdi Dastani (Utrecht University)
  • James Delgrande (Simon Fraser University)
  • Ulle Endriss (Universiteit van Amsterdam)
  • Wolfgang Faber (Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt)
  • Luis Farinas Del Cerro (CNRS)
  • Eduardo Fermé (Universidade da Madeira)
  • Michael Fisher (University of Liverpool)
  • Michael Gelfond (Texas Tech University)
  • Laura Giordano (Università del Piemonte Orientale)
  • Lluis Godo (IIIA-CSIC)
  • Tomi Janhunen (Aalto University)
  • Gabriele Kern-Isberner (Technische Universitaet Dortmund)
  • Roman Kontchakov (University of London)
  • Jérôme Lang (CNRS, Université Paris-Dauphine)
  • Joohyung Lee (Arizona State University)
  • Joao Leite (Universidade NOVA de Lisboa)
  • Vladimir Lifschitz (University of Texas at Austin)
  • Thomas Lukasiewicz (University of Oxford)
  • Marco Maratea (University of Genova)
  • Jerzy Marcinkowski (Uniwersytet Wrocławski)
  • Pierre Marquis (CNRS, Université d’Artois)
  • Thomas Meyer (CAIR, University of Cape Town)
  • Angelo Montanari (University of Udine)
  • Michael Morak (Technische Universität Wien)
  • Manuel Ojeda-Aciego (University of Malaga)
  • Magdalena Ortiz (Technische Universität Wien)
  • David Pearce (Universidad Politécnica de Madrid)
  • Rafael Peñaloza (Free University of Bozen)
  • Luís Moniz Pereira (Universidade Nova de Lisboa)
  • Andreas Pieris (University of Edinburgh)
  • Henri Prade (CNRS, Université Paul Sabatier)
  • Francesco Ricca (University of Calabria)
  • Fabrizio Riguzzi (University of Ferrara)
  • Jussi Rintanen (Aalto University)
  • Uli Sattler (University of Manchester)
  • Mirek Truszczynski (University of Kentucky)
  • Toby Walsh (University of New South Wales)
  • Frank Wolter (University of Liverpool)
  • Stefan Woltran (Technische Universität Wien)